APSA panels

by Henry on August 29, 2006

I’ll be attending the APSA conference in Philadelphia, arriving Friday, and leaving Sunday morning. Below the fold is a list of panels that I thought looked interesting on the basis of a quick browse through the APSA website – feel free to add others in comments.

—————————————

Reforming the European Social Model

Thursday, Aug 31, 8:00 AM

Pennsylvania Convention Center 107A

Friends, Not Foes: But What Kind of Friendship?
Maurizio Ferrera, maurizio.ferrera@unimi.it, Milan University

Bypasses to a Social Europe? Lessons From the Federal Experience
Stephan Leibfried, stlf@zes.uni-bremen.de, University of Bremen

Challenges Facing the EU: Scope for a Coherent Response
Graham Room, hssgjr@bath.ac.uk, University of Bath

Is There a Social Route to Welfare Reforms in Europe?
Bruno Palier, bruno.palier@sciences-po.fr, Sciences-Po

—————————–

Power Beyond the State: International Institutions, Transnational Activism, and Global Governance

Thursday, Aug 31, 10:15 AM

Pennsylvania Convention Center 103C

The New Transnationalism and Comparative Politics
Hans Peter Schmitz, hpschmit@maxwell.syr.edu, Syracuse University
Mitchell A. Orenstein, maorenst@maxwell.syr.edu, Syracuse University

Robert O. Keohane, rkeohane@Princeton.EDU, Princeton University
Kathryn Sikkink, sikkink@polisci.umn.edu, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

——————————————-

Capacity, Coercion, Consent: Comparative Politics of the Tax State

Thursday, Aug 31, 10:15 AM

Revenue Bargains, Compliance Strategies and State Building in Eastern Europe
Gerald M. Easter, easterg@bc.edu, Boston College

Contingent Consent: Export Taxation and State Building in Mauritius
Deborah A. Brautigam, dbrauti@american.edu, American University

State Finance and Political Accountability in East Africa
Clark C. Gibson, ccgibson@ucsd.edu, University of California, San Diego
Barak Hoffman, bdhoffma@ucsd.edu, University of California, San Diego

Taxation and the State in Rural China
Xiaobo Lu, Barnard College-Columbia University
Thomas P. Bernstein, tpb1@columbia.edu, Columbia University

Margaret Levi, mlevi@u.washington.edu, University of Washington, Seattle

Political Communication on the Internet

Thursday, Aug 31, 10:15 AM

Pennsylvania Convention Center

204A

Getting the Message Out: A Two-Step Model of the Role of the Internet in Campaign Communication Flows during the 2005 British General Election
Pippa Norris, Pippa_Norris@Harvard.edu, Harvard University
John Kevin Curtice, j.curtice@strath.ac.uk, University of Strathclyde

Professionalization in Online Campaigning? A Longitudinal Analysis of German Party Web Sites in the 2002 and 2005 National Elections
Eva Johanna Schweitzer, eva.schweitzer@uni-mainz.de, U of Mainz

Levelling the Electoral Communication Playing Field? The Hype and the Reality of Campaign Blogging
James Stanyer, j.stanyer@lboro.ac.uk, Loughborough University

Connecting Online and Offline Networks: Does the Internet Encourage or Discourage Deliberative Democracy?
Magdalena Elzbieta Wojcieszak, magdalena@asc.upenn.edu, University of Pennsylvania

Digital Imaginaries of Power: National Minorities, Cyberspace, and the New Politics of Reality
Robert A. Saunders, robert_a_saunders@hotmail.com, Rutgers University

—————————–

Power and Historical Institutionalism Thursday, Aug 31, 2:00 PM

Pennsylvania Convention Center 103B

Jane Mansbridge, jane_mansbridge@harvard.edu, Harvard University
Paul Pierson, pierson@berkeley.edu, University of California, Berkeley
Matthew A. Crenson, crenson@jhu.edu, Johns Hopkins University
——————————————

Polarization, Parties, and Power: Partisanship and the Balance of Power in American Politics

Thursday, Aug 31, 4:15 PM

Pennsylvania Convention Center
Room: 103B

John Ferejohn, ferejohn@stanford.edu, Stanford University
Morris Fiorina, mfiorina@stanford.edu, Stanford University
William A. Galston, wgalston@brookings.edu, The Brookings Institution
Thomas E. Mann, tmann@brookings.edu, Brookings Institution
David W. Brady, dbrady@stanford.edu, Stanford University
Hahrie C. Han, hhan@wellesley.edu, Wellesley College

——————————————–

Can There Be Democracy Without Community in the EU?

Thursday, Aug 31, 4:15 PM

Pennsylvania Convention Center 202B

Gary Marks, marks@unc.edu, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Amitai Etzioni, etzioni@gwu.edu, George Washington University
James A. Caporaso, caporaso@u.washington.edu, University of Washington
Andrew Moravcsik, amoravcs@princeton.edu, Princeton University

——————————————

Friday, Sep 1, 8:00 AM: T-16 Theme Roundtable: Has There Really Been a Republican Revolution?

Marriott
Room: Salon E

Paul Pierson, pierson@berkeley.edu, University of California, Berkeley
Jacob S. Hacker, jacob.hacker@yale.edu, Yale University
Juliet Eilperin, Washington Post
Thomas E. Mann, tmann@brookings.edu, Brookings Institution
Sidney M. Milkis, smm8e@s1.mail.virginia.edu, University of Virginia

————————————–

Constitutional Crisis or Constitutional Compromise in the European Union?

Friday, Sep 1, 8:00 AM

Marriott Salon A

Martin Shapiro, shapirom@law.berkeley.edu, University of California-Berkeley
Alberta M. Sbragia, sbragia@pitt.edu, University of Pittsburgh
Liesbet Hooghe, hooghe@unc.edu, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Anand Menon, a.menon@bham.ac.uk, University of Birmingham
R. Daniel Kelemen, daniel.kelemen@politics.ox.ac.uk, Oxford University
——————————————-

The Social Sources of Political Power

Friday, Sep 1, 10:15 AM

Marriott Salon E

Larry M. Bartels, bartels@princeton.edu, Princeton University
Nancy Burns, nburns@umich.edu, University of Michigan
Michael C. Dawson, mc-dawson@uchicago.edu, University of Chicago
Thomas Bryne Edsall, The Washington Post
Theda Skocpol, skocpol@fas.harvard.edu, Harvard University

—————————–
———————————

The Whos and Hows of Political Blogging

Friday, Sep 1, 10:15 AM

Pennsylvania Convention Center
Room: 204B

How Conspiracies Rise, Spread and Fall: The Case of Voter Fraud, the Blogosphere and the 2004 Election
Kevin Jay Wallsten, wallsten@uclink.berkeley.edu, University of California, Berkeley

Representation and Blogs: Advertising, Credit Claiming, and Position Taking?
Antoinette Pole, apole@brown.edu, Brown University

Blogs, the Mainstream Media, and the War in Iraq
Cari Lynn Hennessy, c-hennessy@northwestern.edu, Northwestern University
Paul S. Martin, pmartin@virginia.edu, University of Virginia

Bloggers As Political Entrepreneurs: New Venues, New Opportunties
Laura McKenna, LauraM1111@aol.com,

Campaign Blogs in 2004 and Beyond: The Care, Feeding and Harvesting of Online Communities of Supporters
Joel D. Bloom, jbloom@uoregon.edu, University of Orgeon
Matthew R. Kerbel, matthew.kerbel@villanova.edu, Villanova University

——————————

Roundtable on Ira Katznelson’s ‘When Affirmative Action was White’

Friday, Sep 1, 2:00 PM

Marriott Salon E

Kim M. Williams, Kim_Williams@harvard.edu, Harvard University
Fredrick C. Harris, fredrick.harris@rochester.edu, University of Rochester
Jane Mansbridge, jane_mansbridge@harvard.edu, Harvard University
Richard F. Bensel, rfb2@cornell.edu, Cornell University

———————————

The Politics of the European Constitution

Loews Commonwealth A1

Comparative Federalism and the European Constitution
Jan Erk, jan_erk@hotmail.com, Leiden University

The Art of Political Manipulation in the European Constitutional Convention
Sven-Oliver Proksch, proksch@ucla.edu, University of California, Los Angeles
George Tsebelis, tsebelis@ucla.edu, University of California, Los Angeles

Staying Behind: Threats of Negative Consequences in Case of Ratification Failure in the EU Constitutional Treaty
Hartmut Lenz, hlenz@essex.ac.uk, University of Essex

The Importance of a Unified Public in Negotiating the European Constitution
Christine Arnold, Universiteit Maastricht
Han Dorussen, hdorus@essex.ac.uk, University of Essex
Madeleine O. Hosli, hosli@fsw.leidenuniv.nl, Leiden University
Hartmut Lenz, hlenz@essex.ac.uk, University of Essex

———————————-

Power Dynamics

Friday, Sep 1, 4:15 PM

Marriott 308

Valuing Exit Options
Jenna Bednar, jbednar@umich.edu, University of Michigan

Military Competition, Types of Wealth and State Formation: An Agent-Based Model
Carles Boix, cboix@uchicago.edu, University of Chicago
Bruno Codenotti, bruno.codenotti@iit.cnr.it, Istituto di Informatica e Telematica, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
Giovanni Resta, giovanni.rest@iit.cnr.it, Instituto di Informatica e Telematica

Economic Inequality and Political Power: A Comparative Analysis of Argentina and Brazil
James K. Galbraith, Galbraith@mail.utexas.edu, University of Texas at Austin
Laura T. Spagnolo, lauraspagnolo@mail.utexas.edu, University of Texas at Austin
Sergio Moraes Pinto, slmpinto@gvmail.br, Fundacao Getulio Vargas

A Model of Policy Integration in the Face of Union Enlargement
Nikitas Konstantinidis, nkonstan@Princeton.EDU, Princeton University

Riot Politics: Explaining Violent Conflict in India, 1970-2000
Sunita A. Parikh, saparikh@artsci.wustl.edu, Washington University
Martin Battle, martin.battle@murraystate.edu, Washington University

—————————

Electoral Institutions and Varieties of Capitalism

Saturday, Sep 2, 4:15 PM

Pennsylvania Convention Center 105B

Does Globalization Affect Electoral Systems? Three Conflicting Theories
Ronald L. Rogowski, rogowski@international.ucla.edu, University of California, Los Angeles

Distribution and Redistribution: The Shadow of the Nineteenth Century
Torben Iversen, iversen@fas.harvard.edu, Harvard University
David Soskice, soskice@duke.edu, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin

Political Parties and the Origins of Employer Organizations
Cathie Jo Martin, cjmartin@bu.edu, Boston University
Duane H. Swank, duane.swank@marquette.edu, Marquette University

Federalism, Decentralization, and the Coordination of Social Policies
Erik M. Wibbels, ewibbels@u.washington.edu, University of Washington
Eric M. Jepsen, eric.jepsen@usd.edu, University of South Dakota

Peter A. Gourevitch, pgourevitch@ucsd.edu, University of California, San Diego

{ 15 comments }

1

Kieran Healy 08.29.06 at 12:16 pm

I’m tired already.

2

CM 08.29.06 at 12:29 pm

Could you spell out what APSA stands for?

3

Jacob Christensen 08.29.06 at 1:33 pm

4

Matt 08.29.06 at 1:49 pm

If you get the chance try to go to Monk’s on 16th and Spruce (a few blocks up and South of the convention center) for lunch or dinner one night- great food of all sorts and wonderful belgian beer. (It is often crowded on weekends, though.) Reeding Terminal market is also need the convention center and good for lunch.

5

otto 08.29.06 at 7:20 pm

APSA stands for “An opportunity to see your old grad school friends”.

6

Henry 08.29.06 at 7:24 pm

Thanks Matt – I ate at the Terminal last time, but didn’t know about Monks – sounds very good. Any recommendations for breakfast places?

7

jakeb 08.29.06 at 7:39 pm

Henry–
Actually, the terminal has a very nice breakfast place (if you like traditional food)– the Dutch Eating Place, in the northwest corner. It’s open Wed-Sat. The apple french toast-turkey bacon special will set you up right.
I echo the Monk’s recommendation–make sure you order the fries, the bourbon mayo that comes on the side is ambrosia, if ambrosia can be spicy, garlic-laden, and bad for your arteries–but I’ve generally found it quite difficult to get in for dinner. Lunch is a better bet.
There are also several good Vietnamese and Chinese restaurants only a couple blocks north of the convention center, rarely expensive.

8

Matt 08.29.06 at 8:02 pm

Unfortunately I can’t offer any sure-thing breakfast recommendations in the center city area since I’ve lived away from there for several years now (I live in another area of the city.) These are a bit away and perhaps not sure things for breakfast but are good for coffee. A place called “Petite-4” on 3rd and race (160 N. 3rd) has wonderful pastries made in the shop and very good coffee. It might be too far of a walk for breakfast from the convention center, though you’d get to see some of the nicer parts of town and also Independence hall and the like on the way. La Colombe coffee shop on 19th near Walnut (right by Rittenhouse square) has some of the best coffee around, though not a big selection of pastries. Metropolitan bakery is a local chain having great baked goods. I think there’s one in the terminal now and also one right by Rittenhouse square. De Bruno Brothers’ house of cheese (an old Italain market fixture) now also has a very large store w/ a good resturant on chestnut and 18th st. I don’t know if they serve breakfast or not, but if they do it’s bound to be good. Still, Monk’s is the place to go if you get the chance, and as Jakeb says above, lunch is probably better since on the weekend it’s quite crowded for dinner.

9

Laura 08.29.06 at 8:39 pm

Thanks for the plug, Henry. I just noticed that Pippa Norris entitled her paper “Getting the Message Out”: Blah, Blah, Blah. Well, mine is “Getting the Word Out”: Blah, Blah, Blah. Fuh-uck. Are you coming to the blog panel?

10

Laura 08.29.06 at 9:38 pm

11

Henry 08.29.06 at 9:39 pm

I probably won’t be there in time, unfortunately – I get in on Friday morning.

12

John Quiggin 08.30.06 at 3:19 am

I have an invite to a champagne reception for the launch of the Oxford Handbooks of Political Science series, if anyone wants to represent me, or represent themselves as me.

13

engels 08.30.06 at 7:05 am

I suppose everyone else is just too polite to mention the unclosed bold tags.

14

Henry 08.30.06 at 8:24 am

It’s the new ‘improved’ version of WordPress which doesn’t let you see the underlying codes and fix them. A massive pain in the arse.

15

Kieran Healy 08.30.06 at 8:36 am

There you go. I don’t think you have to look at the rich-text editor in WP — it’s an option. Or alternatively, it’s not supported in Safari so I just see the regular markup.

Comments on this entry are closed.